Adults on Vacation and SCORE! 8.9

Hi There!  Welcome to a fun and unique installment of The Zale ISBI – Alphabetcy!  This post is a tad different, and I bet all you astute readers out there have figured out why!  Last time there were lots of birthdays.  This time I decided I was going to focus on Helen’s career and her related LTW, but well – things happend.  Let’s get to it!  We, of course, begin with a ZALE CHECK!
Ramon and Ivanna are having a chat!
Screenshot
I love them both <3Helen is putting away all the left over cakes, per my command.
Screenshot-2
But Irene is on her way to grab one last slice before the cakes turn into a gas cloud emanating from the fridge.Ivy, Riley (the IF), Imogene, and floor cake are enjoying the dining room.
Screenshot-3
There are also some deep fried hotdogs.  They look freakishly red to me…

Ike is enjoying a relaxing float in the rain.
Screenshot-4
Noteworthy (kinda): Ramon had somehow taken possession of all the floaty things.  I went into his magical backpack and spread them out amongst the clan.  Ike approves.

Iris is teaching herself to talk, like a good little ISBI spawn.
Screenshot-5The Zale Check went quick, since so many Zales were hanging out together, but Zale Check complete!

Ike then presides over the royal court.
Screenshot-6
While Ivanna eats the sushi that Julia brought over!  Thanks Jules!  Ivanna likes your…cooking?  I mean it’s raw so…

Food preparation.  Ivanna likes your food preparation.

Helen then rolled this:

Oops, missed it
AsterikDefinitely real “rolled wish” screenshot.  😐

So we won’t be seeing Ivanna for awhile.  😦
(I couldn’t even capture her going away wish properly)

So… if any of you recall, Helen’s LTW is to be the next Jane Bond.  009.  So that takes REPORTS!  We went SimSelf hunting to find someone to “question”, but no one was home.  So I sent Helen to the gym only to find this:
Screenshot-7
An umbrella taking itself for a walk.

This always disturbs me greatly, and I got distracted from her initial “Reports” mission, and turned it into a RESCUE THE ANT SIM mission.

I followed the umbrella into this car, where it drove itself home.
Screenshot-8
Fancy car for an umbrella.

After stalking Fancy Umbrella all the way home, I discovered it lived here.
Screenshot-9
I was hoping to be able to figure out which Sim needed to be reset and save them from their umbrella pixel ant-cursed life.

Hmm… Umbrella Ant is now Cane Ant.
Screenshot-10
Helen likes how rich this little guy is.

And greets him to the best of her ability…
Screenshot-11
…by turning her wrist inside out.  And wondering why she can hear her name being called from somewhere far away.  Like a tiny voice on the pavement…

Note:  This little AntSim is Helen’s boss and good friend.

I had already reset him, Taj Diwan was his name I think – it didn’t work, so I scurried off to edit town, evicted him, and moved him back in.

I know it’s too dark to really tell, but hopefully you can recognize Shadow Figure and her thought bubble as our Ant Man back in his original form.
Screenshot-12
ALL FIXED.

And then we question him because that was the entire point of this whole endeavor.
Screenshot-13
Oh wait.  That’s not Helen questioning Ant Man… That’s Duke wandering very far away from the graveyard.  LOOKS LIKE MY PICTURES SKILLS ARE AWESOME.  I watched Duke until he vanished just after this shot.  It really was exciting.  Promise.

Back at the house, Ivy (the SANE one, mind you) talks to herself while Irene paints.
Screenshot-14
Irene does have her own easel in her own room, but what fun would that be?

Then I get an ISBI EPIC WIN POP UP!
heck yes!
See ya one and only Sim I can control!  Have a nice trip!

THEN… Everyone went to school leaving Iris home alone…
Screenshot-15
She seems to be okay for now… but this gal shows up:
Screenshot-16
(Which is a fail…Which matters because…SCORE KEEPING) So this Flower Head shows up to watch the last Ralen NotBoy.  (Helen’s brothers were called “NotGirls” so it’s only fair to call Ike’s sisters “NotBoys”)

Iris:  LET ME OUT OF HERE!  I STINK!
Screenshot-17
Iris:  Oh, you came…
Screenshot-18
…*smiles sweetly* I’ll kill you last
  (reminder, Iris is EVIL)

Useless Boring Made chats with Babysitter
Screenshot-19

Useless Boring Babysitter chats with Maid
Screenshot-20

Then I planned this epic makeover session where they’d be all *fancy* and unique, but…
Oh.  Didn't know that
Apparently they’re both in “work clothes” or something.  Not that I’ve ever seen either of them work…  So enjoy the boring photos of Flower Head and Worthless Maid.

While the adults were away on vacation, I thought we might get a pop-up for a teen party, and I even locked in the “throw a teen party” wishes I’d managed to spot, but NOPE!  CUZ PROM!
Grumpy and Insane Irene opts for her outerwear look on the way to the limo:
Screenshot-21

Less grumpy and less insane Ivy dons appropriate attire for her big night:
Screenshot-22

OBLIGATORY LIMO SHOT
Screenshot-23
And off they go!

Hey look!  It’s Ike!  The future TH!
Screenshot-24
He’s off to play in his tree house!  AND OH NO!  Someone has kicked over the poor flamingo.

Whoa.  Like a millisecond later ALL OF THE GNOMES appeared.
Screenshot-25
It was weird.  I unpaused after the shot and BAM.  GNOMES.  (poor flamingo)

At the prom, Ivy started having “strong feelings” for someone named Leslie!
Ivy Likes Leslie

So I was getting ready to talk all about how if there’s a prom, you just might get to know a Sim’s gender preference without any mods when they form an autonomous relationship!  And I was getting ready to say that Ivy must be gay… and then a tiny voice in the back of my head said “Well, Leslie used to be a man’s name – like Ashley – so it could be a boy…”

And…
Leslie is a boy
Leslie is a boy.  BUT!  It still means sometimes you can learn your Sim’s gender preference from prom!  It means that Ivy is straight!  Or Bisexual…  I’m not sure I’ve seen a non-modified Sim be bisexual though…  Anyway, I love her no matter what her preference is.

It is also worth mentioning that Ivy won prom queen and all Irene did was get into fights every other notification.

Irene gets home and strangles herself.
Screenshot-26
She may be “insane” but I’m tellin’ ya.  That “ask for bedtime” story interaction just MIGHT bring a “normal” Sim to such a state (or a Simmer for that matter).  As the moment she got home, all Zale children were swarming her with story requests… 😐

Ivy on the other hand, like a good little Sim, went straight to bed.
Screenshot-27
I love Ivy.

We can’t forget Iris, who is asleep…
Screenshot-28
…but about to wake up starving and stinky.  Which is not good.

See?  Toldja.
Screenshot-29
😐

This lovely face is about to pass out.
Screenshot-30

And I’m right again!  TELL HER WHAT SHE’S WON!  (Negative five points)

Down she goes.
Screenshot-31
FAIL.

Damn you Ike!  She came in here, FRESH AFTER PASSING OUT, to try to take care of the baby…
Screenshot-32
…and you have to distract her because you want a story!?!  THE BABY IS STARVING.  GO TO BED.

No.  Seriously.  You are the future of the Zales?  You ask for a story then get sucked into the rocking chair vortex?
Screenshot-33
She just went to get you your BOOK!  Now when she comes back, she won’t be able to do anything with you because you’re a chair zombie!

Oh.  Wait.  Never mind.  She got distracted too.
Screenshot-34
Irene and the trash pile are going to make waffles.  (Yes, waffles.  That’s how late it is… it’s now breakfast time…)

While watching Irene make waffle batter in that SimTacular way, I noticed this:
good iea
I’d never seen it before, and based on the graphic it’s related to the “insane” trait.  But I gotta tell ya, wanting to get out of the Zale house is pretty damn sane logic to me!

ESPECIALLY BECAUSE IT’S ABOUT TO CATCH ON FIRE.
Screenshot-35
Stay awake, Irene, you have waffles in the oven.

NO.  Waffles.  COOK YOUR WAFFLES!
Screenshot-36

IRENE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  WHERE ARE YOU GOING?
Screenshot-37
THE WAFFLES ARE GOING TO CATCH ON FIRE!

Oh.  Okay, well thank you…
Screenshot-38
BUT YOU HAVE FOOD IN THE OVEN!

So… then this happened.
Screenshot-39

Everything_went_better_than_expected

BUT – the second “I” in ISBI rears its ugly head with…
Screenshot-40
…Coffee to stave off passing out and floor food.  One fresh waffle plate, and one rotting corn dog.

Immediately followed by…
Screenshot-41
…Yeah… there’s as good a place as any.

She then woke up and went to school so… not a total loss?

With Irene costing me ANOTHER five points failing, but leaving for school – a babysitter is forced to show up.
Screenshot-42
How’s the view you five point costing idiot?  Those blinds are FASCINATING.

All failing and idiots aside, Iris is cute.
Screenshot-43
And I already miss Ivanna, so I’ll probably bring her home soon.

Hey, here’s Irene’s formal you didn’t get to see (at least at her prom…)
Screenshot-44

And THAR SHE GOES!
Screenshot-45
FAIL FAIL FAIL FAIL FAIL!  She’s just outside the science facility because of a field trip.

Then, on the way home, she got out of the bus to walk…
Screenshot-46
Since she’s just OVERFLOWING with the energy required to walk from wherever the heck she is to wherever The Zale Estate is.  You never know with Irene.

AND THEN.  If you haven’t managed to figure it out by now, I decided to keep score.  So this meant I went through EVERY SINGLE POST, looking for fails and wins, counting births, and ever-so-much floor pee.  I may have missed some, and I definitely haven’t been paying enough attention to honor roll, but I know for sure I had two with Abe’s kids… SO BEHOLD.  The ZALE FAMILY ISBI- ALPHABETCY SCORE CARD:

SCORE:
Failing school -5:  1 (-5)  (David Brunson)
Game Sent a Service Sim -5:  7 (-40)
Passing Out -5:  29 (-145)
Self-Wetting -5:  19 (-95)
Accidental Deaths -10:  0 (YAY!)
Social Worker Visit -15:  0 (YAY!)
Births +5:  35 (+175)
Twin Births + 10:  6 (+60)
Triplet Birth +15:  1 (+15)
Fulfilling LTW + 40:  4 (+160)  Abraham, Daisy, Erik, and Giles.
Honor Roll +5:  2 (+10)  {I have not paid enough attention to this…}
Randomize Traits for an Entire Generation +10:  7 (+70)
Every $100,000 +20:  3 (+60)
Spouse Tops Career +10:  3 (+30)  (Leif did it, Gustave did it {Remember, the daycare?  And we got that sweet van that Helen left at Uni?}, and Cyrus did it when I couldn’t control him anymore, and it wasn’t his LTW, so I’m counting it.  MY PARTY.)
I Called a Repairperson -10:  4 (-40)
Repo-man -5:  1 (-5)
TOTAL: +250

So I used some scoring I found – added a few things… and there you have it.  Nearly 8 full generations and we’re IN THE BLACK!  My husband frequently walks into the computer room while I’m playing and asks “Are you winning?”  The first two dozen times, I tried to explain that you don’t “Win or Lose” like typical games, then I just started saying a deadpan “Yes.”  (or NO if the game was crashing all over the place)  Well – I’m going to start saying “YES!” and MEAN IT!  I AM WINNING THE SIMS.

So… the rest of this post could’ve been Fun Zale Times, but I had to spend my evening doing MATH.  So this is all you get – THIS TIME.  I promise there will be a next time, so do come back, yes?  UNTIL THEN:  HAPPY SIMMING!

25 thoughts on “Adults on Vacation and SCORE! 8.9

  1. zefiewings

    lol That must have taken a while!
    Nooooo! I hate when sims go to boarding school! Whyyyyy!
    and they were surprisingly well behaved weren’t they? nice.

    P.S I think you need to update your header. Or are you just waiting for at least one adult kid to update at once? That would make sense, yeah…never mind me! 😉

    Reply
    1. Heather Post author

      Hi! Yeah, I’ll get Ivanna back. I miss her. As for the header, only the YA picture gets put up, but I don’t have the same photo editing stuff I had before, so I’m not exactly sure what I am going to do with it.

      Reply
      1. zefiewings

        I know you wait until YA, I more meant the greying out of the dead members.

        I use Pixlar if that helps…its online and its free.

      2. Heather Post author

        Oh Yeah, I do have dead members I haven’t grayed out… Thanks for the tip on Pixlar, I’ll have to check it out!

  2. pinkfiend1

    I think you have to deliberately choose to throw a teen party. It’s not an opportunity.
    So jealous of your score. I have gone firmly into the red again.

    Reply
    1. Heather Post author

      When “Everything Breaks” and the Ds were children, I received a pop up that said “I hear your parents are out of town” and I could click “Throw Teen Party” and an invite box came up. That way they were able to have one even though I couldn’t MAKE them throw one. I keep waiting for that box again. I think it might help if one of the teens has a friend.

      Reply
      1. pinkfiend1

        I’d forgotten about that teen party. I’ve never had the pop up, then again I don’t let them have an adult free weekend if they get the option.

  3. plumbawesim

    Aww no rager party? That’s disappointing.
    Can’t wait until Ivanna comes back. I sent only a handful of sims to boarding school in all my time of playing. I’m not a big fan. I feel like I’m missing out on their upbringing. Buuuut, you do have so many other notboys to look after 😉
    So you’re going to officially keep score from now on? 🙂 That must’ve taken quite a while to go through all the chapters but at least you’re not in the negatives 😀 that’s great!
    Isis is adorable ❤ although it isn't your fault a babysitter got called. I think children/teens are called to go to school/job without assistance from the player. So I don't know if they'd skip school on their own (but I could be wrong about that).

    Reply
    1. Heather Post author

      I am going to keep score! And I am going to bring Ivanna back as soon as Helen gets home. I miss her! Iris is very adorable. And yay for not being in the negatives!

      Reply
  4. roserainboweve

    lol, that is so cute that your husband kept asking you if you were winning! Well now you can finally say yes and mean it! 😀 I’m seriously impressed, both by your score and how you manage to get out frequent updates and keep the generations going! Makes me want to try my hand at an ISBI but I have the feeling that my Sims will definitely have visits from the social worker. There were so many I girls I couldn’t really miss Ivanna but I’ll be happy when she’s back!

    Reply
    1. Heather Post author

      Yeah, it’s cute. HA HA… Thank you for the nice compliments! I only played a couple SimDays without Ivanna, I mean, the adults aren’t even back yet – and I missed her. I’m surprised we haven’t had any social worker visits, but I’m most surprised about the no accidental deaths. Gustave was my closest almost death when he was frozen solid at the beach after Eriz’s wedding.

      Reply
  5. laserkatt

    HAHAHA THE UMBRELLA THING!! Oh god, that cracked me up! 😀 “Fancy car for an umbrella”. *dies*
    And I really admire your bravery with the adult vacation o_o I found it really frustrating to just have the one sim I could control at work, and everyone at home are literal idiots. It’s strange you didn’t get the party pop-up though. I don’t think I’ve ever had an adult vacation without it appearing o:

    I hope they won’t keep boarding schools in Sims 4, but reintroduce private schools from Sims 2. I really liked the school uniforms and having to invite the principal for dinner 8D The hilarities \o/

    And that’s an impressive score you ended up with 😀 Definitely winning! And yeah, back when I played Sims 2, my brother used to walk past me all the time asking “are you winning” and I just wanted to punch him 😀

    Reply
    1. Heather Post author

      The umbrella made me laugh too! But I was determined to fix it. I like sending away the grown-ups. I get to just sit back and watch the chaos! I have sent my adults on vacation three times, and only once did we get to throw a party 😦

      I forgot how awesome it was to have the principal over in TS2! I always made sure someone had their cooking skill up REALLY high… I would do a house tour, but it never went well… ha! I loved the uniforms too! Aw, memories.

      Hmm, it seems your brother and my husband are cut from the same cloth!

      Reply
  6. Echo Weaver

    I totally love keeping score in and ISBI! Go you for doing it retroactively!

    You are totally in the black. You are so in the black I am stunned.

    In fact, I think you’re more in the black than just that. I read the birth rules as 5points PER CHILD, with additional bonus for twins and triplets because they’re such fail fodder. At least, that’s how I’m scoring it. I see no point to having three scoring items that could be replaced by “5 points per child born.”

    I am amazed that you send the parents on vacation. I’ve never done that in my ISBI. I’m afraid to go that long without a torch holder to come to the rescue in times of emergency. Like, say, the HOUSE CATCHING ON FIRE.

    Reply
    1. Heather Post author

      Hmm, I think you’re right! I will add my twins and triplets into the “Births” section as well as a bonus for them being multiples! Thanks! I think it’s super fun to send the TH away on vacation… but I don’t always do it when it pops up, depends on what I’m working on.

      Reply
  7. Rad

    Hooray, I finally caught up! Look at that score – so awesome! And gen I are really, really cute. You mated well with Ramon. Loving the current house too.

    Reply
    1. Heather Post author

      It is SO cool to see you on my blog! WEE! I also absolutely adore this Gen. And thank you! I love the house too, once I get a few more rooms done up, I think I’ll upload it! 🙂

      Reply
  8. somebodysangel13

    I’m with laserkatt, that umbrella thing was just hilarious. I love how you get distracted like that, then document is for the rest of us to enjoy 🙂

    Also: Irene is awesome. Feeds the toddler and makes herself food? Who cares if she didn’t sleep. We don’t want to see those gorgeous eyes closed, anyway.

    I have sent a few sims to boarding school. Mostly if they have boring traits and there are other, interesting kids to watch (the insane ones never go to boarding school!) – if I was you I probably would have sent David to boarding school, since he couldn’t be part of the legacy. But then, I also like to skill up my kids and teens so they can fulfill skill-related LTWs before they grow up. Normal legacy is all about the LTW points. I had one athletic sim complete Perfect Mind, Perfect Body before he’d even rolled the LTW (which only happened on YA birthday).

    Reply
    1. Heather Post author

      I really like to honor as many wishes as I can. Especially in the ISBI, if an idiot wishes it, and I can do it without controlling the idiot, I try REALLY hard. Do you know if you can use boarding school in the WYDC?

      Reply
      1. somebodysangel13

        Ooh, good question. I haven’t checked about boarding school. Hopefully I won’t have to use it; the teens would be very helpful with nooboos, and even the kids can feed toddlers. Maybe if I’m unlucky and get multiples again. But for the most part, I like raising kids in the Sims. One of the reasons I chose to do a WYDC.

      2. Heather Post author

        Oh man, I’d be desperate to use it if it were me! Get them out of your hair for a bit! I see there’s a new post! I am looking forward to reading it!

Leave a comment